motorcitysmiles is committed to facilitating the accessibility and usability of its website,, for everyone. motorcitysmiles aims to comply with all applicable standards, including the World Wide Web Consortium's Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 up to Level AA (WCAG 2.0 AA). motorcitysmiles is proud of the efforts that we have completed and that are in-progress to ensure that our website is accessible to everyone.

If you experience any difficulty in accessing any part of this website, please feel free to call us at (248)-268-8886 or email us at and we will work with you to provide the information or service you seek through an alternate communication method that is accessible for you consistent with applicable law (for example, through telephone support).

Dr. Friedman Bio

April 18, 2017

About Dr. Friedman

I love a good challenge, whether it’s improving my chess game, learning how to make sushi or figuring out the best solution for each of my orthodontic patients. “Every case is a puzzle requiring abstract thinking. I love seeing the transformation from beginning to end (of treatment). And, the kids love my corny jokes.”

Originally from West Orange, New Jersey, I received my undergraduate Bachelor of Science degree in Biological Anthropology and Anatomy with a minor in Chemistry from Duke University in Durham, North Carolina. I also spent a semester abroad in Tokyo, Japan where I studied Japanese and Asian Studies. Upon returning to New Jersey, I attended the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey (UMDNJ), where I received a Doctorate of Dental Medicine (DMD) in 2011. I completed my orthodontic specialty training from the University of Detroit Mercy in 2013, where I received a Certificate in Orthodontics and a Masters in Oral Sciences. I am a member of the American Association of Orthodontists, Michigan Association of Orthodontists, and Alpha Omega Dental Fraternity. I am a diplomate and board certified by the American Board of Orthodontics, an honor achieved by only one in three orthodontists.

In my free time you can find me roller blading, boating with friends, working out to P90X or listening to country music. I love traveling the globe and am in competition with my younger brother to see who can reach all seven continents first. He’s currently winning. I live in Royal Oak, Michigan where I just finished construction on my first home. I love collecting different types of shoes, sneakers and cowboy boots and now I finally have a place for them all inside my new home.